Big boy red bed!

December 27, 2006 at 3:19 pm | Posted in recycling | 5 Comments

That is what Karma Boy calls his new bed! This is one of those times that make me feel so crafty, frugal, and environmental! dsc00936.JPG

I was Freecycled a captain’s bed and I got to work making it look like new. The chair you see in the photos was also Freecycled, so I painted it to match.

When Karma Boy was asked what color he wanted it, he picked “Wed!” so, red it is!dsc00942.JPG

After I got it painted, I used left over rope to make the handles for the drawers. He loves to unscrew the knobs on his dresser so I am hoping we won’t have that problem with the rope. I then recycled a pair of jeans to make the seat cover, and trimmed it with some of the rope. Since we usually buy Karma Girl gender neutral stuff if we can, we had an extra pair of sheets to use on the bed. So, here we are with a new look for our “big” boy! He loves his bed, but he seems so little in it to us.

finished-bed.jpg

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. WOW! You just got the bed Saturday night and look at it! I’m impressed!

  2. aww,it’s gorgeous.,You did a great job!

  3. Looks fantastic!!! I bought my son’s dresser and desk at a garage sale and painted them…his are black with bright green drawers. Fantastic idea about the rope for drawer pulls. I love a good bargain. The bed looks wonderful. Good job!!

  4. That looks amazing. You continue to amaze me! Maybe it’s a good thing we don’t live too near each other. I could so see you and me going on a recycling/revamping rampage. 🙂 Although, you get the crown. You are awesome at making recycled things look cool as hell.

  5. Have I ever told you all how much I love ya? I do! Really! So far he loves it and is sleeping very well in it!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

