Happy New Year

January 1, 2007 at 4:51 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

I know that everyone is doing these New Year Resolutions lists, and lots of gratitude lists, and since I can’t be normal, I won’t start now. I have no resolutions. I have tons of gratitude. I follow a Native American tradition of living each day as though it is my last. I also try to interact with people as though it is the last time I will see them. This means that I can leave no “Thank you” or “I love you” left unsaid. I don’t want anyone I love to suddenly be gone, and I wish I had told them something, or done a particular something for them. If it is my last day, I don’t’ want to leave people wondering how I felt about them. I don’t want to leave things undone for my family to have to deal with. When my time comes, I want my family to be able to rejoice in my life, not lament what I didn’t get to do. This may sound morbid, but it is the way I have tried to live my life for many years. This may be from working with people with disabilities, and learning through them to take nothing for granted. This may come from Karma Hubby working in a Pediatric Intensive Care Unit where you daily see lives destroyed in random acts. This may come from the news where the media is determined to tell me everything that can go wrong at every minute. This may be from Katrina, where I learned how fragile the world is especially when one thinks only of things and self. You may think it morbid . You may think it strange. For me, it gives me some comfort. Last week, my husband went out to the local bank. It is a small bank with only a total of 6 tellers, and 2 managers. There are no safety windows, no paranoia. When ever we go in they all treat us like family. We have watched them fall in love, become engaged, get married and have children. They are like an extended family. They spoil our kids. So, my hubby usually takes the kids with him on his Saturday run to the bank. The kids love feeling so special and the tellers let them pretend to make deposits. Last Saturday my hubby did not take the kids. No biggie. Day went fine, till that night when we watched the 10 o’clock news and found out that minutes after my husband left, the bank was robbed. The robber shot one of the tellers, in the back, and left the bank saying “Merry Christmas.” If he had taken then kids, then he easily would have been in there with them when the bank was robbed. http://www.katv.com/news/stories/1206/382587.html

http://www.todaysthv.com/news/news.aspx?storyid=39135

For those of you with kids, you know how much longer everything takes with the kids in tow. My kids are 3 and 5 years old. My husband is one of those fantastic husbands that leaves women saying “do you realize how lucky you are?!?” I do. It is bad enough to see or hear about freak accidents and realize that our time on this planet could end at any minute, it is another to see the near miss. It has been a hard week for me as I remember the mortality of people. So, I will make no New Years resolutions. I will publish no gratitude lists. I will simply tell each and everyone of you that read this, either by accident or because you meant to , that I appreciate the time you took out of your day to read about mine. I hope that all my readers are kind and loving, and go forth and spread love to the world. It can be as simple as a smile. Smiles are contagious and if you give one, another person is likely to catch it. Live your life as if it is your last day. Don’t wait till you find out you have a terminal illness to start doing what you want to. Live like you are dying.

Tim McGraw

From the album “Live Like You Were Dying

He said,
“I was in my early forties
With a lot of life before me
And a moment came that stopped me on a dime
I spent most of the next days
Looking at the x-rays
Talkin ’bout the options
And talkin ’bout sweet time…”
I asked him,
“When it sank in
That this might really be the real end
How’s it hit you
When you get that kind of news?
Man, what’d you do?”

He said:
“I went skydiving
I went Rocky Mountain climbing,
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named Fu Manchu
And I loved deeper
And I spoke sweeter
And I gave forgiveness I’d been denying.”
And he said,
“Someday I hope you get the chance
To live like you were dying.”

He said,
“I was finally the husband
That most of the time I wasn’t
And I became a friend a friend would like to have
And all of a sudden going fishin’
Wasn’t such an imposition
And I went three times that year I lost my dad
I finally read the Good Book, and I
Took a good, long, hard look
At what I’d do if I could do it all again
And then…

I went skydiving
I went Rocky Mountain climbing
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named Fu Manchu
And I loved deeper
And I spoke sweeter
And I gave forgiveness I’d been denying.”
And he said,
“Someday I hope you get the chance
To live like you were dying…
Like tomorrow was a gift
And you’ve got eternity
To think about
What you’d do with it
What could you do with it
What did I do with it?
What would I do with it?

Skydiving
I went Rocky mountain climbing
I went 2.7 seconds on a bull named Fu Manchu
And I loved deeper
And I spoke sweeter
And I watched an eagle as it was flying.”
And he said,
“Someday I hope you get the chance
To live like you were dying
To live like you were dying

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Kamrin,

    Wow, I didn’t know Steve was in the bank that day. I use that bank for my business, but not that branch. Back in the 80s I was a bank teller at a bank on Rodney Parham and never worried much about getting robbed. To think that now we are afraid to take children to the bank with us.

    Happy New Year to you and thanks for your words of wisdom about living each day as if it was our last.

  2. I love you, Kamrin. Wish I could be there to give you, Mr. Karma, and the kids big hugs for the New Year. I’m incredibly grateful that your family was spared direct involvement in the horrible crime that day at the bank. You are a strong, insightful woman who inspires more people daily. You are a blessing to have as a friend and you are a blessing to your immediate family.

    Another song comes to mind “I hope you Dance” but of course you know I can’t remember who sings it. 😉

  3. Great post! I also like to live my life like it is my last everyday. No regrets that way. Glad your family is safe. We never know when it will be our last day to live and that is why it is so important to prepare for that day before it comes upon us.

  4. I’m not a resolution maker either. Living each day IS so important just as your post says.

  5. *HUGS* Happy New Year. I am glad to have found you. *HUGS*

  6. Happy New Year, Kamrin! No resolutions, I am with you!

  7. I’m so glad your husband is safe.
    I feel so sad for the people involved:(

    This is a perfect post:)

  8. This is th best blog post I have ever read. Thanks for the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

