Day One – Minnesota

January 28, 2007 at 5:19 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

I’m back! Woo-hoo! Minnesota and Wisconsin rock! There was snow everywhere and lots of cheese!The kids seemed ok with me leaving, until I headed for the security checkpoint. Karma girl broke down and howled in protest. She was all red-faced and heartbroken. The other folks in line were even feeling for her. I got out of the line twice to try and comfort her. Finally, Mr. Karma took the kids to the car, and I proceeded into the line, feeling like the worst mom ever. I got lots of sympathetic looks as I explained it was the first time I had ever left my kids for more than a few hours. I made it through security at the airport and I left Little Rock. I flew Northwest and they were great. The staff was friendly, and the seats were comfy! I could not believe that I fit in the seats, with a little room to spare! I had been borderline needing the extended lap band the last time I flew. This time, I had room to spare. Wow! The flight went smoothly, and I spent my in between time drinking overpriced beer in the airport restaurants. I crocheted on the plane, and got some stuff done for the NOCH (shout out to Beth!). My flight arrived in Minnesota and I practically ran to the luggage carousel to meet Mrs. M. coming-in.jpgThere she was, looking stunning and the picture of health! She was a wonderful sight for sore eyes! We got the luggage and headed to the hotel. I walked out into that freezing cold air and was stunned! There was snow everywhere. We got to the hotel and I had to touch and play in the snow. We had a lovely room, and got our stuff settled in, and called our friend C’s room. She and her hubby had been up there so he could interview hospitals, and we all planned it so that we could be in the same hotel for her last night there, and my first. Those two gals are so much fun! We walked across the street and ate at a Noodle Factory. It was so yummy! We then went to a Starbucks and I got a big ol’ coffee. We then went to a liquor store and stocked up for the hotel room. We went and hung out in C’s room cause she had a suite. Her hubby was at a movie, so we had the room to ourselves. We drank, talked, and laughed. There was a Jacuzzi tub in the room and I was talking about upgrading rooms to get one with a Jacuzzi, and C told me to just hop in theirs! I was stoked! I ran up to my room, got my stuff, and then came down and soaked in a big ol’ tub of hot water and sipped a beer. That is about as close to heaven as one can get. After that, we talked more till C’s Hubby came back.3friends1edit.JPG Then the good Dr and Mrs. M got going on some hot topics, and we all had a glorious intellectual debate on just about everything!hesaid-whatedit.JPG Life was great. I love folks that can debate opposite ends of an issue and not take it personally. This is how we learn folks! Listen, learn, refine your stance, and admit it when you don’t have all the answers. The folks I admire most are the ones that admit that they don’t have all the answers. It got a little silly at one point and we all climbed into the hot tub, and the good Dr took a photo of us. Aren’t we cute? hottub2edit.JPGWe finally let them go to bed, and we went to the room, turned on some cable (neither of us have it) and eventually crashed. The bed was comfy, the pillows firm, and the day great. Who could ask for anything more?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I had fun in the hot tub! Can’t wait to do it again! 🙂

    CMD

  2. Yay to you having fun on vacation and an even bigger YAY because you’re back. Woo hoo. You’ve been missed.

  3. I love seeing you and Shana together again. You girls are all so cute in the hot tub. Yes, I agree about debating with individuals and not developing hard feelings. I have learn so much in life from people who challange my beliefs and values.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

