Day 5 Wisconsin, Minneapolis, Arkansas

February 5, 2007 at 2:59 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

(hear Beatles singing)I woke up, got out of bed, dragged a comb across my head. I made my way downstairs to shower up, looking up, I noticed I was late…but my vision was blurry. That’s right folks! Here I am getting up at 5am, almost ready to go, and realize I have lost my contact. Just one. My left one. So, here I am half blind and it is time to go. We made a quick search where we could, and then had to just go. We were picking up a friend of the Divine one so that she could share the joy of Minneapolis (and IKEA) and help keep her awake on the drive home. We picked her up at six, then went for coffee and gas. As we drove, and my eyes adjusted some, we got to watch the sun rise in a clear sky casting glistening stars on the top of the snow and ice. It was beautiful. Lone farmhouses with warm smoke puffing out of the chimney, and you could practically smell eggs, fresh from a chicken, frying in a pan. It was gorgeous.

One of the big excitements fo rme this whole time was knowing we were in “Laura Ingalls country.” It could totally see her writing coming to life in front of me. It was amazing. Mrs Divine, never being one to squash my dreams, tried to take me to the “little house” but after arriving at the museum, we realized it was still a fair drive away and that we couldn’t actually finish the trip on time if we went. O well. I got my photo taken by something with her name on it. That counts, right?dreams-do-come-true.jpg

We had lively debate, and ate cheese. I knew I was getting to my last chance for cheese. Finally, we took out the itenary to make sure what gate I would be going to , only to realize that we had gotten the times wrong! I would not be leaving at 10, and anticipated, but at 3! Woo-hoo! Can anyone say “shopping?” That is what we did. We went to IKEA first (naturally) and I loaded up on some items I had wanted but were not available online for shipping. I grabbed some finger puppets for the kids, and we made tracks to the Mall of America for lunch. We ate at the Rainforest Café so-gay.jpgand tried to wake up some more. rainforest-coffee.jpgWe left there and went to the car only to find that there was no way all that stuff was gonna fit into my suitcase. It was decided that it would be shipped to me. Good enough I say! Off to the airport! There was a lump in my throat as I said goodbye even though I knew I would be back soon. That woman is so good to me, if it weren’t for how bad I missed my kids, I woulda stayed. Check in was easy, did I mention how much I like Northwest? I got to hang and drink a beer, and crochet while waiting for my flight to be called. going-out.jpgFlight to Memphis was smooth, and I got there with plenty of time to spare. Problem became that that flight was delayed. So, I waited, and waited, and waited. I began to realize that I could have driven home by now, but as reminded later, I didn’t have my contact in. Sigh. Finally I arrived in Little Rock, and practically ran to the open arms of my family. We hugged and I swung the kids around and they tried to dog pile me. It was almost a minute before they let me kiss Mr. Karma! I came home and was so tired I practically collapsed. I was weird to be home. My bed felt different, and it was hard to know that Mrs. Divine was not in the next room. I will see her again soon, I say to myself as I snuggle into Mr. Karma for a long sleep. Till the kids wake up that is.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I miss you.

    Reading through your entries brings it all back and it was SO MUCH FUN! Thank you for coming up here. (((HUG)))


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

