Victim of fraud

March 30, 2007 at 5:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 6 Comments

More to the saga.So, the night my brother in law is to arrive, we decided to call and see if our Federal tax money has been electronically deposited to our account. Imagine our surprise when we find out that our account was negative $481. The next morning Karma Hubby went to the bank and we were -$741! When he looked at the printout and saw “$45 – Chicken Shack” he knew we were victims of a mistake. Now of course the bank can’t do anything on a Saturday so we had to wait till Monday morning to do anything at the bank. In the mean time, I filed a police report. We spent the whole weekend without money, but just knew it would all be cleared up on Monday morning. All of this happened because someone had my card. I actually remember the last time I used it and I don’t think the guy gave it back to me. I was distracted cause he was giving the kids balloons and talking to all the folks around him. It is so easy to be distracted with the kids. Now I done been robbed. Monday we went in and our account was -$986. They canceled the card and said we just had to wait for all the charges to clear before they could do anything. So here we go, another day with out money. The construction was to start on the garage and we explained to the contractor what was going on, and he agreed to go ahead and start anyway. Whew! So, now I have company in my home, who cannot drive and is in America for the first time, construction on my attic, and someone out there spending my money like made leaving us penny-less. No stress there. On Tuesday morning, we go back into the bank to get it all settled, no go. There are still pending charges out that must come through before we can do the final report. That is the same day the air conditioner man had to come and bid on moving the duct work for the new room to be built. He shows us all the damage we have in our ducts and we are now getting an entirely new duct work system, have a few vents moved inside the house, and using an old air conditioner to heat/cool the new room. I told him the story of us having no money and he understood. Later that day he said he would be willing to go ahead and start the work with the understanding that we would pay when we got our money in. Cool! So, construction is moving on, but we have no money. Well, on Wednesday morning, we should be good to go, right? Wrong. All the charges have come through and our account is -$1350. He then tells me that for some reason, not all was cleared yet, there were two more charges waiting to come through, and that the card was closed and now being rejected from stores. So, we wait another day. On Thursday I went in and spent hours filling out paperwork, then had to go to the police station on the other end of town to get a copy of the report. I finally was able to turn in all the paperwork on Thursday by lunch time. So, this should be all cleared up on Friday, right? Wrong. The bank manager said that since it was sent into the fraud office it was out of his hands. Sigh. We were by now getting calls from our debtors since the bills we had paid were bouncing. We were getting late notices and threats of cancellation. I just might have to scream! All of the folks were understanding and many of them shared their own stories of fraud. Weird little society I am now a member of, this victim of fraud club. The following Monday I threatened not to leave the bank till they gave me the info of the person handling our case. They did, I called him, he got on it. By Wednesday it was finally settled. Now for the prosecution. They spent into the felony level so are considered white collar criminals. Hmmm…I think they are straight up thieves who need a good smack upside their heads! Let me clarify that I might feel differently if the items being purchased were things like food for the family, medicines for the kids, necessity stuff. Instead, this guy is buying booze, and car parts. I wanna go to his sentencing and give him “the look.”

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh my, I feel terrible for what you and your family are going through. Some people just have no conscience. I hope all will be sorted out soon for you sake.
    Good luck.

  2. I am so sorry honey. I can’t believe there are people out there who are so evil. Hope you all recover soon and can get back to normal if that is possible.

  3. Wow. I read this a few days ago, and then this morning it happened to me too! UGH! I caught it really fast before anything could go through, but what the heck is wrong with people??? This is the 2nd time in a year my identity has been stolen 😦

  4. Girl I am so sorry that this happened to you. ID theif hurts so bad.
    I totally understand.I too have had that happen to me.
    1st you wonder what the crap is going on . Then you want to kill somebody really bad.
    I say when the caught the person who did this to you that you that them to court and sue the pants off of them >:).
    No really file a law sue against them for fruad.
    In my case this hurt me so much more because it was a family member who did it to me for 14yrs. and I am still trying to get is cleaned up.
    She just about destored my life and credit.
    And deftly wound me be on repair.
    Famliy or not I will take her ass to court when the time comes without so much as gimnce back to what family should be.

  5. AHHHHHHHHH. That sucks! What on earth is the world coming to? Here I’ve been feeling all “Woe is me” about the accident, but hell, if anyone has good karma and deserves to be worshipped rather than beaten down, that would be you. I’m SO sorry this happened to you. Is it officially all cleared up now? Did they give you your money back? Have all the other companies gotten rid of any late fees? Ugh. I’m SO sorry.

  6. oh that’s horrible. so have they caught this clown (or clowns)?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

