Piggy Bank Boy

April 2, 2007 at 8:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments

So my son was playing in the playroom, and we heard Karma girl yell “he is hurt hizelf!” Karma boy then walks into the living room and is freakin BLUE! It is obvious that he is choking on something! Karma Dad grabs him up and says “ I am gonna Heimlich you, OK?” He then does so. Nothing comes out, but airway is somewhat restored. He is kinda vomiting up fluids that look like frothy spit. He is very limp. We grab him up, and we all climb into the minivan of love while yelling at the construction workers that we are going to the ER. Karma Dad put on the hazards and drove like an ambulance driver to the ER while I was turned around in the seat watching the boy. Karma girl was just kinda in shock and borderline panicking so I was trying to calm her down. We arrived at the hospital ER entrance and in true TV fashion, I jumped out of the car, scooped Karma Boy out of his car seat, and carried his still limp body into the ER at a full trot. The only thing missing was me screaming “My baby! My Baby! Someone help my baby!” The officer guarding the door asked me what happened and I told him that he had choked on a coin and he rushed me into triage. The triage nurse then rushed me into the big trauma room and they started strapping monitors on him to measure his oxygen levels. He was still so limp. Finally he began to perk up just enough to sit up and then they sent us to X-Ray. He began to come around a little more so that by the time they finished the X-ray he was acting fine. Turns out the coin had moved into his stomach where it stood out clear as a bell on the X-ray. Yeah!! After that we were quickly discharged and came home where Karma Boy ate two pieces of pizza. Now we just get to wait for the coin to pass. I told them I wasn’t gonna look for it, that was his father’s job!

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Ed Stasick wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptFinally he began to perk up just enough to sit up and then they sent us to X-Ray. He began to come around a little more so that by the time they finished the X-ray he was acting fine. Turns out the coin had moved into his stomach where … […]

  2. what is up with the above comment?!

    anyway, I’m so glad baby boy is ok. I cannot imagine how the adrenaline rush drained you after it was all said and done. No doubt he acted like nothing happened: you’re the one left more traumatized!

  3. I am so glad someone knows the Hiemlic(sp). I am relived K-boy is fine.
    You have had some tough luck lately. I hope it all turns around for you soon. What ever doesn’t kill us makes us stronger.

  4. That must have scared the life out you and hubby.
    Hope K-boy will be his old self in a few days. I will pray for all of you.

  5. Oh my word! That sounds so scary. I hope all is well now. How is he feeling? How’s the rest of the family.

  6. Wowzers, how scary!!!!! Hugs to all of you.

  7. OMG!!!!!

  8. good heavens, what an ordeal!!! so glad this had a happy ending. poor you. poor all of you. damn.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

