Voices in my attic

April 10, 2007 at 10:48 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

attic1blog.jpgI have had voices in my attic for the last three weeks, and sometimes they are musical. I hear loud thumps, followed by sounds of drills and hammering. There is plaster dust all over my home and dirty footprints trek through my house. Why all this excitement you ask? Well, remember me telling you about the brother in law coming to stay for a month? Well, I have decided I am sick of having to totally re-arrange my life when a relative comes to stay, so I decided to make a guest room. Now we have one of those huge attics that you can walk around in, but nothing has been done with it. I thought it could make a nice little addition. After all the interviews and estimates, we decided to go for it. This was before the fraud though. Lucky for us, the contractor agreed to start even though he knew we had no money.attic2blog.jpgWe then had to hire a air conditioner company. We thought we were just gonna have a few ducts moved, but we would up with all new ductwork, a new diffuser, some new vents in place, and some new vent covers. He also agreed to work even though we had no money! I love these guys! attic7blog.jpgI try to feed them a good lunch every day, and take them lots of water and beverages. I also have been up there helping with demolition, hanging sheetrock, and working a nail gun! It is so much fun! attic3blog.jpgIt is a lot of work,and really hot (up to 100 degrees)  but I hope it will be worth it when it is all done! We chose to go ahead and do it even though it would be during part of the brother in laws time here because he would get to enjoy the room himself in a few weeks, and he is real handy, so he could help them and thus save us some on labor costs. That hasn’t worked out. He doesn’t seem to play well with others so I have put him to work on things like child care and other “Mr.-fix-its” around the house. He has come in real handy for that after a little whip cracking to get him moving! Anyway, I am hoping to be done soon, and get my life calmed down. I can’t wait to publish the finished photos for you all! Till then, here is the hole we put in the ceiling for the stairs!attic6blog.jpg

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. teasers!!! they are all teaser photos! 😉 You, of course, are as radiantly beautiful as always: dust, sweat and all!

  2. I can’t wait to see it! 🙂

  3. You have got to be the coolest boss in the world! I know nothing about construction, but do you mind if I come work on your house?

  4. wow, what a project. you are a brave soul to just launch into such a project. i’ve always wanted to do that in our attic too. can’t wait to see the finished product.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

