Other fun and exciting things that are going on

May 30, 2007 at 8:11 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

The vacuum cleaner broke and we can’t afford to get it repaired so I have been sweeping. Yup. It takes forever, the floors never seem all the way clean. However, I have taken a new appreciation for the advances of modern technology.

enapkins.jpgAdd to that my sincere attempts to dry clothes on the line. I have finally worked out a bit of a system and it is going a little better. The humidity here can make it hard to dry. That and the fact that the back yard is almost completely shaded. See those cloth napkins (no more paper for us) I picked up for a buck at a garage sale? Awesome! I enjoy the fact that I am line drying. I love knowing I can do this one act and be more frugal and help the planet.I also thought I would try whittling (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whittling) as a form of summer recreation and it has evolved into wood carving. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Woodcarving) I didn’t realize there is a difference. I also found that the items I am trying to make are called treen. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Treen_%28wooden%29) I am using all found wood, even if it is construction scraps. Here is my first project. A “Beware of Gnomes” sign to warn folks before they enter the back yard. egnomesign.jpg ereallynow.jpg

The duck is a toy for the kids from a pine block, and the walking stick with a dog head is a work in progress.e2carvings1.jpg

I have also gotten back into batch cooking. I am doing this with using “cheap” meals. So, lots of beans, rice, pasta. We have almost no kitchen waste now as fruit rinds get dried for potpourri, food scraps go into the compost, and “extra” food gets frozen. I also have taken to making bread. Frugal, healthy, and fun. Making bread is hard, but rewarding.e2bread.jpg

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like you are making the best of things in a really positive way. I remember my mom line drying clothes before we could afford a dryer. I personally love making bread. Great way to get out frustration. I am a little worried about the gnome sign though. I’m trying not to take it personally.

  2. I wish I had your energy! All great things you’re doing…love the gnome sign.

  3. I am SO making a sign like that
    for my next backyard!
    What a cool idea.
    You’re inspiring,this is a great post!

  4. Your rainbow of cloth napkins is so YOU! You spread joy and sunshine everywhere you go…and the idea of an army of gnomes guarding your hoard – gotta love it! *smooch*


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

