We got air, yes we do! We got air, how bout you?!?

August 5, 2007 at 6:34 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Yup! We finally got our air conditioning back. We thought we were just going to have the compressor fixed, but we knew that was delaying the inevitable. We lucked out when our AC company offered us a deal on a new unit! We so took it! So, now we have a newer model AC, and a house that is cooler than 85 degrees!I am so glad that we had learned to leave with the thermostat up because it was darned hot here! The heat index has been in the 100’s and there has been a week of Ozone action days. This means we are all kinda wheezy right now.With fans, and careful planning of window openings and closings, we were able to maintain a livable temperature. I don’t recommend living without AC in these 70’s houses though. At least not in the South. When I get the homestead plans drawn up, I do not plan to include AC, but instead to use straw bale as insulation and good layout to keep the air flowing properly.The only downside to that would be missing our AC guy. ace.jpgBye-bye Mr AC guy …..ac2e.jpg

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh last summer we ***suffered*** when our AC was out. Three different companies came, finally was fixed. I lived through 100+ days for about a month. Why did it happen during the heat wave? Anyway, I’m glad you’ve got a new unit and everything is cool and wonderful for you.

    What really struck me about this post, though, was the mention of a sraw bale house. Ah, my husband has every book written on straw bale houses and has dreamed of building one. (Will never happen because he’d have to … never mind.) So I hope you get your straw bale house!

  2. ugh. i was working on the sidewalk in front of my shop all day today. too freakin hot. i don’t know how you did it.

    i have always wanted a straw bale house too! 🙂

  3. I want a straw bale house too!
    I’m thinking of experimenting and
    building a straw bale shed(for practice)

  4. Sorry honey, but if my repairman looked like that I’d be sabotaging the AC all summer long! Now excuse me while I try and clean the drool out of my keyboard.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

