A little at a time

August 14, 2007 at 1:26 pm | Posted in frugal, recycling, simplicity | 2 Comments

According to Wikipedia, homesteading is, broadly defined, a lifestyle of simple, agrarian self-sufficiency. Well, then, I must be getting closer. I recently read this entry at Down to Earth, http://down—to—earth.blogspot.com/2007/08/small-steps-simplicity.html , and realized that I am closer than I thought to being where I want to be. For living in the city, we are fairly self sufficient. I guess I kept thinking that I had to have my straw bale to “really” be there, but I do not. I have already embraced the simple things in life in so many ways. We use natural cleaners, make our own soap and candles. We use cloth napkins and try to stay away from disposable items and over packaging. We try (each year) to win the battle of the city squirrels and grow a garden, but at least my herbs are surviving (indoors). My compost pile is awesome and I am so proud of how hard we have worked to make it so successful! I guess I am not the only one thinking on these lines because I turned around and saw this entry at Frugal for Life, http://www.frugalforlife.blogspot.com/2007/08/reducing-re-using-and-re-claiming.html . So, I may not have my “green” house, but I am working on all the things that one does inside a home to make it green and self sufficient. I guess that comes into what my little blog is about, it is the process we are undertaking to become the self sufficient folks we wanna be. Each day, it seems, I learn something new to help me get closer to that goal. I hope that each of you will go out into your day and see what little changes you can make to bring your world and your goals into harmony!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m glad you’re finding a great sense of peace at home and enjoying the process of discovering it.

  2. Sounds like you are a city homesteader to me! Way to go!

    BTW canning really isn’t that hard. You should try it. If you can’t keep the squirrels out pick up cases of produce at your local farm market or find a pick your own farm. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

