Sew good!

September 17, 2007 at 4:49 pm | Posted in Craft, frugal, Health, Personal, recycling, simplicity | 5 Comments

shirt-beforee.jpgAs my weight loss has now neared 60 pounds, I am at the end of retro fitting my clothes. I have taken almost as much as I can out of the tops, and the cotton is getting thin from wear. Here is a before and after of my Razorback shirt (go Hogs!) shirtaftere.jpg

I feel good that I have learned enough about sewing to alter my clothes, the kid’s clothes, and to fix items that require sewing. See the cute little purse gifted to me by my Panamanian friend after a visit to her family? I am so glad I could repair the strap! The interior of the patchwork bag (vintage from my mom’s closet) needed repairing also. repairedclothese.jpgThere was a time in my life that I would have just gotten rid of the clothes instead of trying to make them last, much less repair them. I am really looking forward to buying new clothes for the winter as I no longer own a pair of jeans! I never thought I would shrink out of my clothes, but here I am! There are a couple of big consignment sales happening this month, so I will wait till the last day, when things are 50% off and go see what they got!I hate being at the plateau I am at, I really want to loose this last bit (I dunno, 30 lbs maybe) and I know what I can do to make that happen, I just haven’t cracked down hard enough on myself to do it. I have some calories to cut and some exercise to catch up on. I am at least glad that I have not put on the 10 lbs I had been averaging in gain per year for as long as I can remember.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You’re awesome! I can’t wait to see your new, retro-fitted wardrobe!

  2. Darn!! That’s $119.48! Sounds even better in US Dollars…

    You are sew fine!

    Greetings from Houston (This week)

    KOTC

    Phil

  3. WOOHOOO! I wanna be just like ya! and I LOVE that you’ve been saving and repairing rather than throwing out~very cool! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  4. Way to go girl on wt lose. That a great feeling is it.Only then you need to get smaller and smaller things to wear. 🙂

    There is a resale shop in Benton called
    HELPING HANDS
    Mon.-Sat., 10a-5p
    809 South St.

    All the clothes & shoes are $1.00 each.
    I have found new things there with the tags still on them. Maybe this will help save you some $$$ until you reach your goal.

  5. You did great job!!! I’m thinking of doing the same to my fave skirt for next year..


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

