Crocheted washcloths/face flannels

October 14, 2007 at 2:30 pm | Posted in Craft, frugal, recycling, simplicity | 5 Comments

blogsixedcloths.jpg

So, the kids needed some new washcloths and I decided to try my hand at making them myself. I don’t own a serger, so I decided to use some Freecycled cotton to crochet them. I had just enough of each of the cotton to make a washcloth, or two, so this was a great way to use up the remains. The center, light purple one, I did with a single crochet, but I found it a little to tight and heavy when wet. I tried the yellow with red trim using a half-double crochet. I liked it much better, but I wanted the weave just a little tighter. I kept working down with hook size till I found that using a “h” hook with the HDC gave me a cloth that was not to heavy when filled with water, and was soft and flexible enough that the kids like it’s feel on their faces. So, here they are, my new set of washcloths, cost =$0, recycled = 100%, fun for the kids to have their own homemade washcloths (face flannels) = priceless!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That looks like a fun project – I never would have thought of that!

  2. face flannels? Is that one of those words like bobbie and nappy? Just curious.

    They are too cool. I may make some of those…eventually.

  3. Thanks Kelly! Glad to have you pop by!
    Diatribal, yup, it it. Should have seen me asking for a washcloth in a store while in Yorkshire! I wonder what they call them in the rest of the English speaking countries?

  4. It took me a few moments to realise that a wash cloth was what we in the UK would call a face flannel. Previously I had thought US wash cloths were meant to wash dishes. In the UK ours are usually made from a towelling material and not crocheted or knitted.

  5. Jan had a good point, so I edited the title to make it a little more clear for my lovely British readers! You crocheters should peak at Jan’s site, I am loving the photos of retro patterns!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

