More plarn than you can shake a stick at!

November 13, 2007 at 4:24 am | Posted in Craft, frugal, getting involved, Personal, recycling, simplicity | 1 Comment

Well, shake a crochet hook at least!  

small-sizebag.jpg

I made another bag using the pattern from http://www.myrecycledbags.com/

Which is more than slightly modified by myself because apparently I can’t read a pattern to save myself! Again, I used the bags that newspapers come in as they are a “softer” material which I like for a bag being carried over my shoulder and under my pudgy arms. I can easily hold a gallon of milk and some other groceries in this one bag! I love it that when it gets wet, all I have to do is to hang it up to dry! Also, our local stores now offer a discount for each of your own bags you bring in. Remember to ask for it as those pennies add up in the budget!

Plarn rocks, especially if you are collecting it from neighbors, not getting it yourself. This also allows me to remind them that I am doing this because all these bags are bad for the environment and ask them if they have started using canvas yet. Subversive? Yes. Effective? Not sure yet.

I also found that if you go to a store like Target, where they take a lot of returns, they just throw their bags at the end of the day, so if you ask a store manager, they will likely let you take them for your next plarn project. So, get out there and reduce the amount of plastic being sent to the landfill in your neighborhood ~ Crochet a bag!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautiful Kamrin. You do such great work and are so nice to the enviornment. I am thankful for that.
    Love ya, girl!!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

