BLOG ANNIVERSARY

December 5, 2007 at 1:13 am | Posted in Personal | 9 Comments

Well, I realized it has been a year since I started this blog, and it seems this calls for a “BLOG IVERSARY” post.

Originally, this blog was started as a way for the all the family in England to keep up with our family here in the States. Karma Hubby is the only member of his family living in the US and so we really wanted the rest of them to be able to keep up with what was going on with us. We also had friends who were moving, or had moved, to other parts of the US and we wanted to keep track. We found out the English side of the family never really read the blog, then when they did, it happened to be a post they felt was TMI for the rest of the world, and have since then dis-owned me, and hardly ever speak to hubster or worse, the kids. It is tragic really. So, the blog began to be more on craft as many of my friends are also crafters, and a little on the personal side, just for those folks stateside, and I have kept away from the “hard” issues in the house, to avoid further conflict with England. Now, with the blogiversary and all, I feel I should decide if I should keep on blogging, and if so, if there should be more focus. I have no ads, so there is no revenue in this, just a sense of contact with the outside world. Seems the folks out in the states that we miss so much, we talk to by phone enough now that the blog can be redundant. I love the other blogs I read for all their different aspects on different areas of my life, such as the politics of Angry Black Bitch, the frugal/simplicity encouragement of Down-to-Earth, the eloquent writings of Eviganome, great cooking ideas from Juggling Frogs, crochet patterns from My Recycled Bags, Wise Bread for everything wise, and all my personal friend’s blogs over there in the daily reads (they really help keep me grounded most days). Comments have been getting sparse these days, so I will let those of you left and commenting to kinda help me decide. So, maybe it is time for me to pick something and stick to it, or maybe I should keep on keeping on, wadda ya think?

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hmm. I don’t know what to tell you, since I recently went through the same thing. If you want to keep the “personal” stuff off the blog, I understand…you could always go with your passion for crafting and frugal homemaking.

    Love ya, doll.

  2. I just wanted you to know that I enjoy reading about your family and your craft ideas rock. Do what you feel you need, but know that I am a daily reader.

    Love ya girl

  3. Hey, seems to me that your blog is a catharsis, a bit of chilling time for you, and a way for friends/aquaintences to stay in touch remotely.
    It’s good for you and Great for us out in the rest of the world.
    If the time it takes is encroaching on your life then just write if or when you have the urge.
    I know that those that enjoy will check your blog for new entries for a long time.
    It’s kind of like calling a friend and getting their answering machine, you may not leave a message every time but you still call every once in a while to see if their home…
    Know that there are many people that do enjoy seeing your’re projects, and keeping up with photos of Root Beer ((let ’em figure that one out!(but don’t give ant hints!!))

    KOTC

    Vikingphil

  4. I personally enjoy your blog and have even become inspired by you to make some eco-friendly changes in my life. It seems to provide you the mental health break and validation that we all need some times. If you decide to keep it, put on it whatever floats YOUR boat (hence the name Kamrins Karma). (((((HUGS)))))

  5. I’m still a regular! Blog for yourself, not for anyone else, and those who love it will keep reading and those who don’t won’t. And ,,!,, to whomever creates their own drama from whatever you write.

  6. I’ve often thought those same things..give it a rest and think about it. The answer will come to you:)

  7. Hi,
    Please don’t run away! I don’t often comment, but I check in frequently. Enjoy your blog! Happy Blogiversary!

  8. I hope you will keep blogging. I know the living for comments aspect, but honestly, when I stopped caring and writing for my own satisfaction the whole thing became more rewarding for me. I’ve noticed that the comments wax and wane, but I think I persist because it’s a way for me to get things cleared out of my head.

    You will decide what is best for you to do. I hope you keep on posting and I will continue to stop by and see what you are up to.

  9. Hey Kamrin – I started about the same time you did, apparently. I haven’t been as good or thorough in blogland the past month or so — holidays, kids home, and winter blechs, who knows. It’s up to you, but … consider staying around?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

