Cleaning out the negativity

January 9, 2008 at 2:00 am | Posted in Personal | 6 Comments

I have been getting ready for the move day by cleaning out the house. I am planning that by having no extra clutter, no projects waiting to be done, and no “I really wanted to learn a new craft with that” life will be more simple. I also have been getting rid of all the Former’s stuff. Anything I associate with him or his family has been packed up to go with him. If he doesn’t want it, it has gone to Goodwill or been Freecycled (http://www.freecycle.org/)

This will hopefully help keep me from breaking into tears when I see something we got together, or bursting out with negative thoughts about how his family has treated me when I see some item they imparted on us as a gift.

I also went and got new bedroom linens, a bed quilt, some new towels and bathmats. I removed all the old pictures from the walls and the kids and I have been making original works of art to hang on the walls. I have been putting them up using the ideas of Fung Shui to keep the energy positive.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Feng_shui

http://www.azcentral.com/arizonarepublic/home/articles/0105fengshui0105.html

I feel so contradictory in many of these items. I feel like should make them myself, or find them at Savers, or even better, to make due with what I have. I did manage to get all the items on terrific clearance sales, and they are of good quality so should last a long time. The other upside to this buying new is that there is no negative energy associated with them. I plan to do a through cleansing of the home when the move is complete. From what I have been learning about how to do this, it seems like it could be a good thing to do for anyone who is feeling stressed or down in your home or office.

http://www.thesoulelement.com/energy_clearing.htm

And then, the final step will be to do a good smudge for the whole house, and myself.

http://www.altnature.com/thegarden/howtouse.htm

There is only one more important thing that I must take care of, and that is my health. I am trying to eat better, exercise more, and get more sleep. I am hopeing that by doing those things, my stress level will drop, my energy go up, and I can be more focused on helping the kids deal with the emotions they are facing with their daddy leaving.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Smudge away, my dear. I can’t wait to see the new linens. I can buy hard goods and some clothing from Savers, but for bed sheets, I always get new. There is no better feeling than getting into fresh new sheets! 🙂

  2. I try to follow fung shui as well (Black Hat) and the sheets are a fantastic idea. Start saving up for a new bed as well. (Why do beds have to be expensive??)

    I have been thinking about you a lot. It’s weird because I only know you through your blog, but I have been thinking of you. I’m so glad you’re taking positive steps during this stressful time.

    Sending good vibes your way.

    Frankie

  3. Not advocating anything this time. Just available if I can assist in any way.

    KOTC

  4. HUGS. hugs. HUGS.

    I’d love to see the great artwork those Karma babies are creating!

  5. I thought I would share with you something that always brings a smile to my face, a tear to my eye, and a feeling that I’m not the only one. I encourage that maybe you check out his books too.

    Postsecret.com

    PS. If you ever need a chance to get away from it all, I love your kiddos!

  6. Wow,that’s a great idea. I imagine it must feel very powerful to take each step and make each change:)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

